Prime of your Life

I can honestly say Primer has changed my life. But it wasn’t always plain sailing, I went through several brands, formulas and surprising skin effects before I settled down with ‘the one’ I have dry/combination skin and live in the tropics – controlling shine and minimizing pores is vital.

My top 3 Primer Tips:

1) Choose a format that suits your skin. Don’t listen to anyone else, test & feel as many as you can before committing

2) Watch online tutorials on how to perfect the application process, it makes a huge difference!

3) Wait at least 2 minutes before applying foundation (have a piece of toast or dry your hair)

I did a trial of four prominent brands ranging in texture and price:

 

L’Oreal Base Magique – Affordable. A souffle/dense foam format that is creamy and melts into skin. Reviews

Laura Mercier – Light and clear formula. Watery texture. Good for oily skin. Reviews (also have hydrating variants)

Lancome La Base – Thick, clear gel formula. One blob spreads over entire face. Best for dry/combo skin. Reviews

Boots No7 Airbrush Away – Affordbale. White, creamy formula. Reviews

 

My favorite is Lancome La Base, simply because the formula suits the climate I live in as well as my slightly dry skin type. The smoothing gel formula glides on easily and keeps my foundation and concealer in place (especially under eye area) in a hot (never below 35 degrees and upwards of 90% humidity) country.

About amyswalkinwardrobe
I adore fashion and spend most of my free time looking for great, chic items I can mix and match. Oh, and the occasional luxury item of course! There is nothing better than sitting in a boring meeting and being inspired by your own shoes :)

Leave a Reply

